top of page
Search

"Now, go wash your face..."

There are so many tasks to be checked off when planning a big event where lots of photos will be taken, like a wedding or vow renewal. You have to pick out the date, venue, food, clothes, music, decor, family friends, makeup and even your hair style. Not to mention the million other tiny details you didn't even know you needed to know about.

But where on your list is "skin care routine"?


Taking care of your skin will not only pay off for the day of your big event but you will be thanking your esthetician fairy for years to come.


We interviewed our favorite local esthetician Amanda Kashmar for her tips on how to prep your skin so that you have the best foundation for your makeup on your big day. Here's what she had to say:


*Pointers from a Pro*

  1. NEVER do anything "new" to your skin right before your event. Start Prepping 6 month in advance. This step will ensure you are not allergic to any new products or procedures.

  2. Begin daily regimen including cleansing, exfoliating, hydrating/brightening, and moisturizing. Each skin type and color is different so make sure to consult your pro before starting. "one size fits all" routine.

  3. Using Vitamin C serum the morning of your event will help give you that duet glow that photographs so well.

  4. Getting a hydra facial or oxygen infusion will help with removing any extra dead skin and plump your skin for the day of. I recommend doing this a week prior.



Taking what she had to say I decided to give it a test drive myself (ALL PRODUCTS that she recommends and that I used will be listed at the end of this blog)


Below was not a typical day for myself, but it was a long day for me and my skin and I knew it would be the best day to test out what it takes to take care of your skin. I was booked for a bridal gown dress photoshoot where I would be styled to be very bridal followed by a photographer who booked me for a corporate style head shot. The style of both shoots would be drastically different, but the lens would be on my face (skin) a lot and making sure the photos were what the photographers wanted would start with my and my skin care routine. Here's how the day went:


*PHOTOSHOOT DAY*


7:15 am wake up wash face, add moisturizer, and primer (OFF TO PHOTOSHOOT)



8:00 am Full makeup for Bridal Dress Photoshoot with Beloved Couture Bridal

9:00 - 1:00 pm Styled Bridal Shoot

1:30 pm Lunch

2:00 pm Corporate Headshot hair and makeup

2:30 - 4:00 pm Headshots for Marketing campaign with Rob Sandberg Photography



5:00 pm Return Home

6:00 pm Dinner

7:00 pm Wash the day off

It was a lot to put my skin through but all the photos turned out great and I was happy knowing that my skin care routine would get me through it and confident in my own skin.


All in all, wether you're getting ready for your big day, a day of photos, or just want to be confident in knowing your skin will look younger and brighter a good skin routine is key.


If you want more specific details about a skin regimen that is perfect for you, contact our Pro Esthetician Amanda Kachmar here. She's open to in spa or in home facials and there are incentives for you to book and invite friends.


As promised here is a list of skin care products/brands she recommended for me (if you order through her mention that you saw this blog post for a freebie!


1. Eminence

Eminence is an organic, holistic biodynamic brand.


2. iS Clinical

It's a botanically based our pharmaceutical brand


3. ZO

This is Dr. Obagi brand. It is a full medical grade skincare line.


So in the warm and loving words of Amanda, "Go wash your face..."


With Love and Glitter,

Michaelene

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page